Sign In Forgot Password

Committees


ASBI 20s & 30s Committee

The ASBI 20s & 30s (TNT) Committee organizes Shabbat dinners and social events for young adults in their 20's and 30's. Learn more at asbi.org/tnt.

Chairs: Rachel Abrams, Nissim Said, and Noam Weinreich
Email: YoungProfessionals@asbi.org

 

Accessibility Committee

ASBI strives to be an inclusive and accessible space for all. If you have accessibility needs, suggestions, or requests related to physical, sensory, mental health, or cognitive challenges that will better allow yourself or others to utilize the shul’s facilities and programming, please send an email to inclusion@asbi.org or fill out an anonymous accessibility needs form at asbi.org/accessibility.

Chair: Becca Shrier
Email: inclusion@asbi.org

 

Chesed Committee

Organizes the delivery of food to shiva homes; helps families with a newborn by providing meals and/or babysitting; coordinates hospital visits as well as visits to elderly or those who are unable to leave their homes; recruits volunteers from within the shul membership to take part in these tasks; initiates new chesed projects as needs arise.

Chair: Tamima Wyszkowski
Email: Chesed@asbi.org

 

Education Committee

Designs each semester of adult education classes, catering to a variety of skill levels and interests; sets up visiting scholars; and plans any educational events at ASBI.

Chair: Eli Rosenblatt
Email: Education@asbi.org

 

Eruv

Maintains the The Jack Strulowitz Lakefront Eruv.

Chairs: Ann Levenson & Nathan Kasimer
Email: Eruv@asbi.org

 

Family Programs Committee

Coordinates all aspects of children’s programming at the synagogue, including Shabbat and Holiday children’s services, Friday night family dinners, and all family events.

Chairs: Rebecca Koren
Email: Family@asbi.org

 

Finance Committee

Under the guidance of the treasurer, helps create the annual budget, tracks operating expenses, coordinates budgets for special events, and oversees the shul’s investment strategies.

Chair: Joseph Goodman

 

 

Hashkama Minyan

Organizes the ASBI Hashkama Minyan.

Email: Hashkama@asbi.org

 

 

Hospitality Committee

Arranges housing and meals for guests to the community; coordinates Shabbat meals for anyone looking to be a host or a guest; initiates new programs to help encourage hospitality within the community.

Chair: Elizabeth Lavin
Email: Hospitality@asbi.org

 

House Committee

Responsible for the upkeep and maintenance of the building and grounds. Makes recommendations to the board regarding security issues and the aesthetics of the synagogue.

Chair: Matthew Seidner

 

Israel Committee

Runs social and educational programming related to Israel; coordinates Friday night dinners and Learning Lunches on Shabbat; organizes annual Yom Haatzmaut (Israel Independence Day), and Yom Yerushalayim celebrations.

Email: Israel@asbi.org

 

Kiddush Committee

Plans the weekly Kiddush and coordinates with sponsoring parties. Learn more about sponsoring Kiddush at asbi.org/kiddush.

Chair: Mona Freidin
Email: Kiddush@asbi.org

 

Membership Committee

In charge of helping with anything membership-related. Also oversees the greeters program and welcome committee.

Chair: Camila Altman
Email: Membership@asbi.org

 

Mikvah Committee

Coordinates regular upkeep and functioning of the mikvah; initiates new educational events surrounding the use of the mikvah.

Chair: Caroline Musin Berkowitz
Email: Mikvah@asbi.org

 

Ritual Committee

Advises the rabbi and the Director of Religious Engagement in all matters relating to the religious life of the synagogue.

Subcommittee: The Gabbinate
Coordinates Torah readers, leaders of davening, aliyot and honors.

Chair: David Eisenstein
Email: Ritual@asbi.org

 

Security Committee

Oversees all aspects of security at ASBI, ensuring a safe and secure environment for all members, staff, and the building itself.

Chair: Eran Koren

 

Social Action Committee

Acts as ASBI’s arm in social justice work around Lakeview and the larger Chicago community.

Email: SocialAction@asbi.org

 

Women's Tefillah Committee

Women's events are open to women of all ages at ASBI and include holiday programming, women's mincha services, and social programming. Shul members are available to teach others to read Torah and lead services.

Chairs: Emily Jelen
Email: Women@asbi.org 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fri, March 1 2024 21 Adar I 5784